About the YACU

The Young Americans Coalition for Unity (YACU) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to engaging youth in politics and promoting unity and bipartisanship. As the US's only youth-led nonpartisan & bipartisan organization focused on this unique combined mission of youth and unity, the YACU seeks to give everyone -- no matter their party, ideology, or background -- a chance to share their political beliefs, get involved, and find common ground. We're hosting special events, creating a nationwide network of local chapters, and fostering bipartisan discussions daily.

At the YACU, you can volunteer, lead, make new friends, and pursue opportunities only our coalition can provide. Whatever you believe, wherever you are, and why ever you're here: the YACU welcomes you.

Our Mission

The Young Americans Coalition for Unity is a nonprofit organization dedicated to engaging youth in politics and promoting unity and bipartisanship. We work to empower both high school and college students to engage in bipartisan discussion and become politically involved in their local community and national politics.

Our Board

The Leadership Board of the YACU is comprised of leaders of major teams at the YACU. Board members are comprised of directors, officers, and representatives elected to their position by other board members or all the members of the YACU. The Board works to lead the organization as a whole, making decisions that drive the future of the YACU.

  • Andrew (Political Director)

    Andrew Juan is a political activist, organizer and policy researcher, dedicated to making the voices of young Americans heard in our modern political process. A high school senior based on Cape Cod, Massachusetts, Andrew has worked with a variety of political organizations. He served as the National Youth Director for a presidential campaign, creating the campaign's official youth organizing group. In addition, he has been on the Board of Directors of several environmental and local nonprofits.
  • Michael (Organizing Director)

    Michael Li is a political and community organizer who has been involved with the political scene since 2016. Delegating organizing efforts on local and national platforms, he believes that keeping a community active and engaged about fixing the problems they face is important in bringing change. Passionate about giving those without a voice a platform, Michael has worked with the socioeconomically disadvantaged, youth, and AAPI community to make their voices heard in the political scene.
  • Carlos (Board Chair and Legal Officer)

    Carlos is an incoming student at RIT, majoring in Industrial Engineering. His work in high school as the robotics club founder, tech crew lead for drama club productions, and IT assistant led to a profound interest in aggregating technology for a better and more efficient world. Carlos has also taken an interest in politics following the 2016 election and is registered as a local Election Judge. When he's not busy, you can find him playing Factorio or teaching other peers about personal finance.
  • Derek (Tech Manager)

    Derek Kaplan is a high school student from Pennsylvania who cares deeply about good governance. He is an experienced computer programmer who has been coding since he was 8 years old. Derek took an interest in politics during the 2018 midterm elections, and he is fascinated with how technology can improve the political arena. In addition to his passions in computer science and politics, he plays drums in his high school marching band, wind ensemble, and jazz band.
  • Kanika (Communications Director)

    Kanika Tiwari is a senior at the University of Alabama at Birmingham studying Political Science and Mass Communications. She is dedicated to doing her part in creating a better, more equitable future for all. She was an intern for a state senate campaign and has volunteered for several political campaigns, as well as worked for a non-partisan survey research firm. Outside of academics and volunteering, Kanika participates in her university’s band program and campus greek life.
  • Steve (Member Representative)

    Stephen Brown is a college freshman from Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, with a passion for the politics of North America. He’s a Paramedic student, and former Radio voicer, Advanced Scuba Diver, Survivalist, Actor and Musician. A dual citizen of Canada and South Africa, Steve has seen a great variety in life and politics, and wants to help the YACU spread the message of benevolent conversation in a modern world of anger and political division.
  • Johan (Digital Director)

    Johan Sotelo is a senior at Tahoe Expedition Academy in Truckee, California. He loves traveling, volunteering, and spending time outdoors. You can find him skiing in the Sierra Nevada mountains during the winter or camping and hiking in the summer. Johan has held various marketing positions with different organizations, including at his local Parks and Recreation District. He is excited to get more involved in politics and work towards a goal of unity and bipartisanship. He is also very engaged in climate activism and works as the Deputy Director of Operations for OneUpAction International.
  • Zainub (Senior Leadership Representative)

    Zainub Shah is a high school junior from New Jersey who is interested in all aspects of the political realm. She has volunteered with many humanitarian, environmental and political organizations fighting for justice. She is an avid reader on philosophical theory, classic literature and autobiographies. Zainub’s interest in politics began during the 2016 presidential elections when discussions about humanitarian issues and foreign policy took place. In addition to her passions in politics and reading, she enjoys trying out new recipes, playing piano, traveling, and photography.

The YACU would also like to thank the following people for their work in the early days of the organization and the time they devoted for a better, bipartisan future:

  • Iris Lin, co-founder and former Organizing Director
  • Aidan Chinn, co-founder and former Digital Director
  • Jazmin Albertie, co-founder and former Organizing Director
  • Aiden Rood, co-founder and former Communications Director
  • Charlie Liu, former Technology Director
  • Andrew LaBerge, former Communications Director
  • Alexis Maese, former Digital Director